Amma n Achan · Celebrations · Family · Hobbies and interests

Hello from India!

It has been almost a month since I flew down. As I mentioned in my previous post, it was a surprise for all.. First my parents. They were surprised, anxious, happy and worried – all at a time. They were worried why I landed all on a sudden.. That too, without Jay. They wanted to know if I had fled cos of issues with Jay.. If Jay will join me soon.. Why they were not informed of my trip.. And so on.. It took us -sis, me and our husbands- a day to convince them that this is not an impromptu one and we are good as a couple. Then the same round of questions had to be faced from every other person who came to know of this. Also if I had come with any “good news” and ya, how can I forget those free advices. Not wearing sindoor gave bonus points to the suspicions. Lol.

I spent a week at sis’s place. Her little one’s second bday fell that week.. It was fun decorating in red, black and white. We pulled out anything and everything we could find in these colours. Multiple trips to craft supply shops and party shops and here is what we came out with..

imageedit_7_9248599264Β FB and Pinterest inspired, I wanted to try fruit skewers. Β We used cherry, black grapes and banana for the skewers. Watermelon was cut out in various shapes using cookie cutters and they also went into the theme. I must say, kids just gulped down the fruits. πŸ˜‰

Then I came to Kerala and stayed with parents for a week. My elder niece also came with me. She is turning 6 and I was confident she will be fine to stay away from her parents. I went to meet in laws the following week. They were also pretty surprised. I spent a week with them and came back home. Meanwhile, my sister took her househelp for a complete health check up as she was falling ill often . Lot of tests followed and the helper lady was diagnosed with AIDS. She was in the advanced stage and doctors told her not to work. Sis took her for further investigation and the reports seconded the diagnosis. Sis was planning her Kerala trip by April end. In this short time, she couldn’t find another trusting hands to leave the kid with.

Next day, BIL flew down with the younger niece (who just turned 2) and went back the same day. Β We were worried if she would cry for her mom. But fortunately, she is all good. Both girls are having fun with us here in Kerala. Achan had set up a swing in the car porch. My cousin gifted them a portalable swimming pool. Cow, cat, birds. Lot of space to run around. They are all gleeee! Inspite of my fast approaching exams, I do spent quality time with them. Helping them with the swing is a nice workout for me. We indulge in some craft activities as well.

Β 

Thats all for now!

12 thoughts on “Hello from India!

  1. Good to read you again, Jo πŸ™‚ I am glad you are having a great time with the little ones! Opps its scary reading about your sister’s maid. How is she now? Poor thing.

    1. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
      Sadly, she is in a bad shape. She gets some help from the local government for the treatment. Sis is also helping in all possible ways. Sigh!

  2. Lovely post! I also tried to surprise my parents once, but ended up telling a week before I landed (my friends convinced me to do that).
    Enjoy your stay πŸ™‚

  3. hello Jo, lovely blog. From past few days I’m reading old posts of your blog πŸ™‚ first time commenting here.

What say you?

