100 Happy Days · USA

Day 48 of 100 Happy Days – A super market within walkable distance

Happiness is having a supermarket within walkable distance

We live in an Indian community. When you take a walk around the apartment complex, you can listen to almost all the Indian languages.. Hindi, Telugu, Tamil, Punjabi n so on.. You can see aunties in sarees n uncles in dothi, who are apparently on visit for daughter’s or DIL’s delivery. πŸ™‚

We have a bigggg Indian store at 5 minutes walking distance. You get everything there.. Right from fresh bettle leaves to Ganga jal. Yes.. You heard me right. They sell Ganga jal too in packets. Availability of materials was never a problem for me. When I run out of something, I can just run to this store and get it. It’s damn crowded on weekends. But if you can manage to be there on afternoons or so on weekdays, shopping is a breeze. I can never plan n buy stuff. Even after making a shopping list, I forget things. A super market at walkable distance is a bliss for me..

Not just supermarket, we have Indian electronics shop, Indian saloon, Indian textiles, jewellers, restruants everything close by. The other day I misplaced my pressure cooker’s weight. Both of us searched the whole house. Didn’t get. Since I had just one cooker, I didn’t have any other option to cook lunch that day. We walked into a nearby shop n came back with a weight…only to see that the weight was beneath a glass kept upside down. What happened next is a different story 😌😌. Since Jay also was a part of the investigation team, there was a loophole for me to escape. πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

I never counted them as blessings until I heard from people living in other parts of the country on how much they have to travel for an Indian store. I can get almost everything here that we get in India. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Day 48 of 100 Happy Days – A super market within walkable distance

What say you?

