Celebrations · Family · Friends · Me and Jay times · Sweet memories · USA

The birthday surprise

I turned 26 on 16th.

Birthday celebration as a kid meant going to school wearing colour dress, being wished in the school assembly proudly standing next to Principal, bunking first period in the name of distributing cholcolates, a sadhya with payasam in the afternoon (if it falls on a holiday), and that special neipayasam from temple. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ There was noΒ cake cutting or parties or gifts. After my sis’s wedding, my brother in law buy a cake and a gift too. They both have always surprised me doing the most unexpected things.

On this birthday, I am here in US and they, in India. I had smelled something suspicious in my cousin’s status update in Whatsapp, a couple of days before my birthday – “You are too awsome, MySister’sName :* “.

My husband wanted to throw a party since this is the first birthday after our wedding. Honestly, I didnt find a point in inviting guests for the twentyyyy sixthhhh birthday. Moreover, we had a get together at home on another occasion in the previous week. I wanted to cook the dinner at home. But he insisted that we have atleast a birthday dinner outside. I finally gave in.

The day came. πŸ™‚

I woke up to the audio message sent across by my besties and a video sent by another good friend singing happy birthday. I had 20-25 conversations to open in Whatsapp, wishing happy birthday. After breakfast, I replied everybody and logged into FB. Suddenly my phone beeped. I got a mail, the sender’s name is mentioned as mine only. I opened the mail and it said,

Happy birthday

From all of us!

And there was an attachment.

A video.

I played the video.

My parents, sister, BIL and their two little girls started singing happy birthday. I felt really good and started blushing. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ And it lasted for one minute. Then my uncle and aunt from Banglore appeared on the screen singing Happy birthday. I went awwwwwww. 😯 Before I could close my mouth my aunt and cousin from Ernakulam appeared. 😯 Then my another cousin from Coimbatore. 😯 Then my friend from college, from Nellore. 😯 Then my besties from Kochi. 😯 Then another friend from Malappuram, Then another one from Bangalore. Then another one from Guruvayur, then one from Calicut, again another friend from Kochi (the selfie videoΒ of this particular friend was shot in a moving train, on her way back home from Kochi). With this all my close friends from college and hostel are covered. Then came the set of school friends – two from Dubai, one from Trivandrum, one from Chennai and so on. Then the cousins from my dad’s side. And finally, my sister in law from Banaglore. The whole video lasted 6 minutes 12 seconds. In this 6.12 minutes, my whole world wished me happy birthday. I was sure the master brain behind is my sister and my cousin, R only. It was midnight at India then. I texted both of them in Whatsapp. Their “last seen” was some two hours ago. I didnt know what to do. I didnt know whom to call. I watched the video again with an ear to ear grin. This isΒ the biggest birthday surprise I ever had.

Later I came to know that my sis and R were completely behind this for 2-3 days – Contacting everybody, collecting the selfie videos, combining everything to one video. God!! And my friends, they have taken the pain to record the video and send it across to her. I felt sooooooooooooooooo happy.. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

It has been a week. (Yup. I know I should have posted this much before. Eeeee. I have become too lazy.) Even now, my jaws drop when I watch the video. Did you see goosebumps on my skin as I type this out??

And here is the birthday cake.

IMG_2174[1] IMG_2175[1]This is my husband’s version of the cake πŸ˜‰

IMG_2172[1]

3 thoughts on “The birthday surprise

What say you?

