Amma n Achan · Family

On my tech-savvy Amma

GB did this cute post on the SMS stories in and around her house. When I read the post, I thought I will write about my tech-savvy mom..

Warning: Long post ahead

Though we had a desktop at our home, my mom never came anywhere in its vicinity. She didn’t even know to come and sit in front of it to watch a movie, if one is played on it – leave alone its operation. So that was my Amma.. πŸ˜€

Though, I and my sis took efforts to β€˜educate’ my mom and dad, she used to run away.

Things changed overnight when the school which my mom worked, implemented compulsory computer training for all its teachers. Then she wanted us to teach her, instead of being β€˜taught’ in her school. But by then, my sis got married and I was staying far away at a hostel, and both of us were not at home. So my mom got trained from her school and was self-sufficient! During my calls to her, she never missed to tell me what all she learned that day. She used to test my knowledge asking, do you know the full form of CPU or do you know how to connect a USB and so on.. Β My calls to her ended only with belly achingΒ laughter.. Gosh! πŸ˜€

And now she is a computer literate ok? Then again she happened to attend a training session, where her instructor happens to be my sister’s close friend, S. (Yes yes, he is half the age of my mom) I was at home for my Sem break then. She came home one evening and told that S had given her a home assignment. After a while, she came and switched on the PC to do her homework!!! She told me she was to type out a piece of text and was supposed to hyperlink the keywords used to its definition in Wikipedia. She tried and tried and tried. But it didn’t work. Β Then I was invited to the scene. πŸ˜‰ The word was hyperlinked, but some settings of our system didn’t allow it to connect with the external source. It threw out an error something like, Contact the system administrator. The user does not have the desired right. I gave up. She was all tensed, just like a 3rd Std kid would be in front of her teacher who had caught her for not doing homework. She immediately picked up her mobile and called S.

Amma: S, I tried to hyperlink the text. But I couldn’t do. Seems there is some technical error. You speak to Jo.

*Hands over the phone to me*

Me: S, It is throwing up an error like blah blah blah.

S: It happens because of some settings in your system. The way she did it is correct. Leave it now.

Me: Ok, S. (I reversed the role of mom and daughter) So S, she has tried sincerely, but still couldn’t complete her homework. Please don’t punish her at the class tomarrow. πŸ˜›

S laughed. πŸ˜›

I laughed. πŸ˜›

And my mom..Β rolleyesΒ She didn’t know what to do..

===============================================

On internet:

We taught her a bit of Facebook-ing and making calls via Skype, so that she can see the photos we upload in FB and can see my sister’s daughter when she makes a call. N now you know, I see her making comments, β€œLike”ing and all.. And one day, my cousin C rang me up and started laughing. Seems my mom pinged him on FB, β€œHello J, where are you now?” J is my mom’s cousin who is in no way related to C!!!!!!!!!

Gosh!

I called amma and threatened her telling if you are gona misuse, I am gona put strict restrictions on the usage of internet!! πŸ˜‰ (Now who is the mom, who is the daughter?Β rolleyesΒ )

================================================

On mobile phone:

My mom had a very basic Nokia set. I taught her the basic things like, attending an incoming call, accessing our numbers from her phonebook and making a call etc.. She was totally ignorant about the whole business of SMS! Whenever I went home for vacations, I used to find her inbox wheezing with messages. I press Delete all and clear it. Slowly, I showed her how to enter text, how to open messages etc. Initially, she used to type full sentences with correct spellings and all that. And I reply in SMS language. She caught up with the language soon and started replying in the same mode. Now, she has improved so much and has even learned to send out short forms which only she can read!! πŸ™‚

Me and my sis are not at all morning persons. Both of us are β€œlate to bed and late to rise” types. If at all we want to get up early for some reason (when we are away from home) we used to ask her to call up. And on some days, she reads the message hours later than when we wanted to get up. By the time she rings me up, we must have already reached office.

Once, when I was staying as a Paying Guest, I heard somebody knocking hard at my door early morning (read early morning in our language. It was around 5.30) I opened the door and with my half shut, ready-to-sleep-for-another-3-hours eyes, I saw the house lady standing with her mobile.

Me: What happened Aunty? Why at this time?

HL: Your Mom is on call. She wanted to talk to you it seems.

*Snatches the phone from her*

Me: Amma.. what happened, Amma?

Amma: Good morning dear

Me: Good morning. But why so early? Why did you call to Aunty’s cell?

Amma: U texted me yesterday night na asking me to wake you up at 5.30 I tried calling in your cell. But u were not picking the call. So I thought I will call Aunty.

Me: What? Text? Who? Me? When?

Amma: You are mad or what? Don’t you remember sending me an SMS?

*Grabs my phone from the table and checks my Sent items.*

Me: No Amma, I didn’t.

Amma: I will read it out

*Silence*

Amma: Oh baby, its not you, it was your sister’s message.

Gosh!!!!Β rolleyes

@#$%^&*

Before I could say anything she hung up the call.Β neutral

And my sister, who wanted to wake up early, was peacefully sleeping at some other part of the world, when all these dramas were airing!

After that incident, she always double check the sender and the message!

==========================================================

On forward mails

My sis and family went on a holiday trip to Malaysia. She used to send us (me and mom) some photos every night. My mom would call me up every single day and ask me how to view the photos. And every single day, I would repeat how to open the mail, how to download the pics and how to view the downloaded pics.

One evening, my mom’s sis rang up and we were chit-chatting.

MS: Hey, I saw the Malaysia photos.

Me: Oh! Sis sent you. They are having a great time there.

MS: No no, she sends ur Amma na?

Me: Awww… My mom learned how to forward the mails?? That too, she didnt ring me up even once with any issues. BLISS. You know for how long I had been trying to impart the working knowledge to her??Β biggrin

Was blushing proudly thinking of my amma’s graduation

Ms: Oh.. But no baby. She gave me her mail id and password, and asked me to check the pics.

Gosh!!! confusedΒ There I was.. As if I had fallen from the 10th floor exclaim

45 thoughts on “On my tech-savvy Amma

  1. LOL………….
    Loved the role reversal πŸ™‚
    “and my sister, who wanted to wake up early, was peacefully sleeping at some other part of the world, when all these dramas were airing!” ROFL
    But seriously, you mom is pretty tech savvy, you will have to agree to that πŸ™‚

  2. Loved it πŸ™‚ so your Amma is full on tech geek now… and she is learning by herself too.. my mom till date stays away from computer 😦

    1. Ya.. She s learning.. πŸ™‚ Cos there is no other go.. πŸ˜‰ If she hear my sis’s kid voice through phone, she feel like seeing her. And that was how she learned Skype-ing.

    1. Oh.. no dear never.. In skype and FB, she is having limited access! So I or sis can easily “CONTROL” her u know. πŸ˜‰ Blog is an open world.. I have no clue on what all she will do here. So a big NO to th B-world

      πŸ™‚

      1. Aha! That isn’t nice at all πŸ˜€
        Do get her to blog! She’s going to be in Wonderland! πŸ˜€
        I can so relate to all the things here, esp. since both my sons very reluctantly at first “allowed” me to access Orkut. Once I got the hang of it (being blessed with interest and therefore motivation :D) there was no looking back πŸ˜€ I’ve since then become a sort of tech-guru πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
        Loved this post!

        1. Ahem ahem.. I didnt see this comment at all.. Let my mom never hear u.. πŸ˜‰ I cant imagine the day she explore the blogosphere..

          And I can very well relate to the words u used here like “reluctantly at first allowed”.. Lol πŸ˜€ Cos i know why ur sons HAD TO DO SO.. U moms.. Hmm..

          And thank u teacher for dropping by.. πŸ™‚

    1. Hmm.. Amma was forced to learn Skype-ing. When she hear my sis’s kid’s over the phone she feel like seeing the kiddu. And that was how it all started… !! Sigh!!

  3. OMG….. This was such a cute-cute-cute post… your mom is a darling… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    LOl on the homework part… πŸ˜€ real role reversal there!!

    and she has learnt to send mails, call through skype and FB too… thats not simple at all.. given the generation they are from.. she is really trying her best πŸ™‚ salute to her curiosity to learn new things!!

    The one on fwd mail was super hilarous… I guess it right, in the very beginning of that para.. she would have given the id and pwd πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ thats so cute!!

    *I am so sorry for the late late comment Jo, with parents at home I was not allowed at look at laptop or I had no spare minute.. I did read the post 4 days back.. but got a chance to comment only now*

    1. Thanks for dropping by GB! πŸ˜€

      Ya ..she has improved so much u know..

      No need of sorry and all GB.. Its ok.. No issues at all.. πŸ™‚ Glad that u found time to comment πŸ˜€

  4. wow!! tht ws super cute .. kudos to her. Making our not so aware parents aware of the new technology is a very tedious task atleast for me( i am so bad tempered n so a very bad teacher) but later I realise i need to have some patience with them.(see i am nice also)
    Yeah everything comes from practice n nothing is tough if u willing to learn.
    P.S first timer here.

    1. Welcome here.. πŸ™‚

      True! Teaching Amma demands a lot of patience. She keeps asking the same questions again n again… The same steps inspite of telling her umpteen times.. Sometimes I feel like telling her Grrrrrrrrrrr! πŸ™‚ Haha..
      And yeah you are nice too.. πŸ˜›

  5. Such a beautiful post this was πŸ™‚ Came here thru’ Jas’ blog.
    I think each one of us has stories on how we make our parents tech savvy. And somehow that is one of the most beautiful phases of our life, no?
    I lvoed reading this absolutely. I loved GB’s post and loved yours!

    do you know the full form of CPU or do you know how to connect a USB – your mom is such a cutiepie !
    And all that facebooking and waking you up -and sharing id and password – laughing till tears came out of my eyes πŸ™‚ Just related it to my own experiences with ma and pa πŸ™‚

    1. Welcome here kismi.. U have a lovely blog dear.. πŸ™‚
      Glad that u liked the post.. πŸ™‚ You laughed reading the wake up tales??? 😦 I was literally crying.. 😦 So grrrrrrr at u.. haha..
      So write a post on ur ma-pa tech-orientation stories na…? πŸ™‚ Would love reading that.. πŸ˜›

  6. Interesting…. See who is eyeing on whom! Today when it is the time for parents to watch for kids going ga-ga over internet and Facebook, Jo is the new example for making it the other way round.

    I must tell you Jo you have presented each incidence in a superb way. My super likes for this post.

  7. LOL, that was hilarious! Especially the last bit where she gave out the used id and password. She is so cute! πŸ™‚

    Enjoyed the read thoroughly, Jo πŸ™‚

  8. Before many years, I tried to teach my grand-father how to open an e-card (I sent him for his birthday) and he shouted at me! πŸ™‚ How long can he sit next to me, while I was doing everything? But he is tech-savvy nevertheless. That’s why he came and sat next to me in a computer, right? Your post brings me those memories back… πŸ™‚

  9. It turned out to be a really long, more so if I consider that you made me read GB’s post! The older folks can surprise us by their tenacity and I am sure there are many things that they are adept at that we cannot even begin thinking about. Enjoyed it all the way! πŸ™‚

What say you?

